Our Centres of Competence

Since the beginning of the rail age, BVV has been one of the leading manufacturers of wheels and wheelsets for rail vehicles. At a total of three locations, we develop top products for rail-based local and long-distance transportation. Through ongoing evaluation of the relevant research findings from science and technology as well as our own research work in the field of wheelset and material development, we still define what passes for state-of-the-art wheels and wheelsets today.

Bochum: Centre of Competence Wheels

The Bochum site forges the wheels and acts as a headquarters for BVV. Here, high-precision wheels for a wide variety of rail vehicles are manufactured and combined with the axles from Brand-Erbisdorf to make wheelsets. One of the innovative developments at the site are state-of-the-art resilient hybrid wheels for local public transport as well as super-hard, high-performance wheels for long-distance transportation.

Ilsenburg: Centre of Competence Wheelsets

At the Ilsenburg plant, wheelsets and axles are manufactured for rail-bound freight car traffic. Here, the mechanical processing of components for a variety of operating vehicles, such as local public trains and locomotives takes place. Ilsenburg is also responsible for the refurbishment of wheelsets or their maintenance.

Bahntechnik Brand-Erbisdorf: Centre of Competence Axles

Bahntechnik Brand-Erbisdorf is a traditional steel processing company. Production is focused on the forging of wheelset axles and rings for local public and long-distance rail transportation. With its long forging machine used for a variety of axles, it also occupies a particularly prominent position in Germany.

Unsere Werke

Seit Beginn des Bahnzeitalters zählt der BVV zu den international führenden Herstellern von Qualitätsrädern und -radsätzen für Schienenfahrzeuge. An insgesamt drei Standorten entwickeln, konstruieren, prüfen und fertigen wir nach Kundenwunsch komplette Radsatzsysteme und Radsatzeinzelteile für den schienengebundenen Nah-, Fern- und Güterverkehr. Durch eigene Forschungsarbeit im Bereich der Radsatz- und Werkstoffentwicklung definieren wir auch heute noch den Stand der Technik bei Rädern und Radsätzen.

Bochum

Der Standort Bochum ist Räderschmiede, Entwicklungs- und Materialprüfungszentrum des BVV. Hier werden Räder für unterschiedlichste Schienenfahrzeuge geschmiedet und mit Radsatzkomponenten wie zum Beispiel Wellen zu kompletten Radsatzsystemen kombiniert. Eine der innovativen Entwicklungen sind gummigefederte Hybridräder für den Nahverkehr sowie widerstandsfähige Hochleistungsräder für den internationalen Fernverkehr.

Ilsenburg


Im Werk Ilsenburg werden Radsätze und Wellen für den schienengebundenen Verkehr gefertigt. Hier erfolgt die mechanische Bearbeitung von Komponenten für unterschiedlichste Betriebsfahrzeuge, wie zum Beispiel Nahverkehrszüge und Lokomotiven. Ilsenburg ist zudem für Serviceleistungen wie die Aufarbeitung von Radsätzen oder ihre Instandhaltung zuständig.

Bahntechnik Brand-Erbisdorf

Bahntechnik Brand-Erbisdorf ist ein traditionsreiches Unternehmen im Bereich der Stahlverarbeitung. Produktionsschwerpunkt ist das Schmieden von Radsatzwellen und Ringen für den schienengebundenen Nah- und Fernverkehr. Mit seiner Langschmiedemaschine  für verschiedenste Wellen nimmt es im deutschen Raum zudem eine besonders herausgehobene Stellung ein.