The company

Tradition, innovation, future

Tradition

The Bochumer Verein Verkehrstechnik (BVV) has been one of the leading manufacturers of wheels and wheelsets since the beginning of the rail age. Founded in 1842 as a Mühle & Kühne cast steel factory, the traditional company was a pioneer in steel processing and the beacon of the young railway industry. At the 1855 World Fair in Paris, Jacob Mayer was rightly honoured with the gold medal for his revolutionary steel mould casting process. This innovative tradition shapes BVV right up to the present day.

Innovation

Even today, top products from Bochum, Ilsenburg and Erbisdorf define the state of the art in wheels and wheelsets on all continents. For example, the new resilient hybrid lightweight wheels for modern local public transport and the stress-balanced high-speed wheel for low-noise passenger transport are rightly regarded as milestones of project work that guarantees our customers decisive competitive advantages.

Future

Through the cooperation with Full Hill Enterprises BVV realigned itself in 2017. With the new shareholder, one of the major railway systems providers in China, we will continue to expand leading market position in the high-speed, locomotives and local public transport and drive forward the development with new concepts and materials.

BVV has been a strong and reliable partner to the railway industry for 175 years. And will remain so into the future. To the benefit of our customers. Globally.

Das Unternehmen

Tradition, Innovation, Zukunft

Tradition

Der Bochumer Verein Verkehrstechnik (BVV) zählt seit Beginn des Bahnzeitalters zu den führenden Herstellern von Rädern und Radsätzen. 1842 als Gußstahlfabrik Mayer & Kühne gegründet, war das Traditionsunternehmen Pionier der Stahlverarbeitung und Leuchtturm der jungen Bahnindustrie. Auf der Weltausstellung von 1855 in Paris wurde Jacob Mayer deshalb zurecht durch die Goldmedaille für sein revolutionäres Stahlformguß-Verfahren geehrt. Diese innovative Tradition prägt den BVV bis in die Gegenwart.

Innovation

Auf allen Kontinenten definieren daher auch heute noch Spitzenprodukte aus Bochum,  Ilsenburg und Brand-Erbisdorf den Stand der Technik bei Rädern und Radsätzen. So gelten beispielsweise die neuen gummigefederten Hybrid-Leichtbauräder für den modernen Nahverkehr und das spannungshomogenisierte HighSpeed-Rad für den geräuscharmen Personenverkehr zurecht als Meilensteine partnerschaftlicher Projektarbeit, die unseren Kunden entscheidende Wettbewerbsvorteile sichern.

Zukunft

Durch die Zusammenarbeit mit Full Hill Enterprises hat sich der BVV im Jahr 2017 neu ausgerichtet. Mit dem neuen Gesellschafter, einem der großen Bahntechnik-Anbieter in China, werden wir unsere führende Marktstellung in den Segmenten Hochgeschwindigkeit, Lokomotiven und Nahverkehr weiter ausbauen und die Entwicklung mit neuen Konzepten und Werkstoffen vorantreiben.

Seit 175 Jahren ist der BVV ein starker und verlässlicher Partner der Bahnindustrie. Das wird er auch in Zukunft bleiben. Zum Vorteil der Kunden. Weltweit.